from anxiety to mindfulness

Not now, I’m blogging!

#reverb13

The phrase “It takes a village” is often bandied about, in reference to child-rearing, running a business, just about everything. But if you’re anything like me, you may not be a natural born collaborator.

In 2014, how could you explore what community means to you?

Community – I love that word. As a new blogger, I feel a bit like the new girl in town, discovering so many wonderful people and places I never knew existed. I’ll admit it, this new girl gets a bit overwhelmed sometimes – how can I keep track of so many great blog posts, I want to follow, read and comment on everything!
image

While busy exploring the blogosphere, I have started to realise that the time spent online has been spent at the expense of the real world community. Here I am, blogging about living mindfully, enjoying the moment, while doing exactly the opposite! (Am usually found swearing at the WordPress app!).

So, my goal for 2014, to find balance in spending my time in both communities. Any suggestions welcome, how do you guys find the time?!

6 Responses to “Not now, I’m blogging!”

  1. Mehnaz

    This totally didn’t miss the point! Community comes in all sorts of form, as you’ve pointed out, and you’re just navigating and trying to find your niche! You’re off to a great start.

    As to balance, I can’t say I’ve found it, but I definitely can’t try to keep up with every single thing I want to read. I think apps only make things worse for me. I guess for me, the key, especially with something like Reverb with endless reading, is to just choose a few, read thoroughly and respond.

    Keep doing what you’re doing and being what you’re being. Blogging evolves over time. You’ll see that. Good luck 🙂

    Reply
    • silverliningsproject

      Navigating is a good description, and thank you for the compliment.

      Yes, I am learning to be more selective in my reading, it’s a big learning curve but I’m really enjoying it. Thank you for the encouragement too 🙂

      Reply
  2. Michael Lane

    You’ll find your own rhythm. The blog world has just become a little part of my real world, and there is so much to explore and so many great things to find. Like I found your blog today… 🙂

    Reply
  3. Kat McNally

    You’re right, it can be totally overwhelming to try and keep up and respond to everything!
    I agree with Mehnaz, your blogging voice and style and preferences will evolve over time. So it’s good to keep your expectations as loose as you can. But I also have to set boundaries regarding the time and energy I spend at my computer or on my phone, otherwise the overwhelm totally overtakes me (and my family and friends get pretty shitty!).
    One of the things I’ve spent time pondering is the whole FOMO thing (Fear Of Missing Out). I realised that — and a constant need for validation — was driving a lot of my social media interactions. Now I’m working on caring a little less about how many comments or hits I get, and find other ways to let people know I appreciate their offerings.
    You’re doing an ace job! You can totally trust your intuition… you’ll know when it stops feeling like fun.
    xx

    Reply
    • silverliningsproject

      FOMO, I can totally relate to that, even more so on Facebook. And yes, I have found it hard, even this early on, not to get drawn into blog stats, but quality connections over quality is definitely the way forward.
      It’s back to that intuition isn’t it, a very important voice to keep an ear out for. Thank you Kat, your advice is always spot on – I’m so glad to have “met” you xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS