from anxiety to mindfulness

Smile! The thought hygienist is ready to see you…

This post is part of #reverb13 at http://www.katmcnally

What was the best decision you made in 2013? What were the results? How will you continue the good work in 2014?

Parents Magazine, Girl with cat

I hope that I have finally made a few good decisions this year. I “came out” of the anxiety closet – it was just getting too small and dark in there. I started Silver Linings Project on Facebook and WordPress and have met some amazing people. I also hope it has brought a smile to a few faces along the way.

My best decision has to have been deciding to see a counsellor. I am lucky to have a counsellor that gets me, and I trust her. She challenges my thoughts, sometimes in a very subtle way, sometimes just a smile and/or a quizzical eyebrow is enough. Sometimes we laugh, sometimes I cry, but little by little she is working her magic, and I hope to gradually share that with you on here

I thought counselling would be hard, challenging, and painful. I am sure that it can be. However, my counsellor has been so gentle that at first I admit I wondered what I was paying for, other than a lovely chat! My insightful other half told me to trust in the process, and so I did, and I’m so very glad I did.

We spend so much time, money and energy on how our bodies look, but neglect our thoughts until they get out of control. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if from an early age we were taught to be positive, to be mindful? Why do we only work on our minds when they go wrong? I would love to see a counsellor forever, not because I can’t see an end to my anxiety, but because she helps me keep my thoughts in check, she reminds me when old thought patterns creep back. It would be a bit like a mind check up, like going to the dental hygienist but so much nicer! Why do we rate our teeth as more important than our brains?

It’s a funny old world.

18 Responses to “Smile! The thought hygienist is ready to see you…”

  1. Steve Chapman

    Nicely put Amy! You have so much positive input, even just reaching out and touching others who are in this leaky boat we’ve set sail in is important. Mental Health is a great leveller. We may all be so different in so many ways, but we ALWAYS seem to have more in common with one another.

    Of my bad mind habits, I try to deflect with ‘humour’ or my version, I tell myself that I am trying to raise a smile, and perhaps I am. But the truth is I shall see the smile in the eyes of those that I touch if I open up to them rather than pushing them away. This is what I wish to do with the many people I meet on this journey, it’s a battle of instinct vs desire.

    I am loving your blogs, and Silver Linings Project in general. Thank you for including us in your journey xx

    Reply
    • silverliningsproject

      Thank you SO much Steve, this means the world. I know only too well what you mean about deflecting with humour, but you’re so right, a smile in the eyes of those who share our journey means much much more. Thank you for being there for me xx

      Reply
      • Steve Chapman

        Makes me think: Did you ever watch “Band Of Brothers”? How they went through such a unique and traumatic experience together and forged a unique relationship together? I’m not suggesting that this is anything like that bad – but there are parallels… if I was suddenly ‘cured’ tomorrow – I certainly wouldn’t want to lose my friends and contacts from this period

  2. Kat McNally

    Getting counselling is a HUGE step, Amy! I know I will reap the benefits forever, even though the process itself could be gruelling and more than a little discouraging at times. xx

    Reply
  3. Christine G.

    I’d so much rather see a counselor than the dentist 🙂 Love your blog and thank you for your authenticity and words of wisdom.

    Reply
  4. Manda

    I decided I am recreating my blog its much needed and I need to make a better name I just dont know how to change it lol

    Reply
    • silverliningsproject

      I had one counsellor before that I didn’t Luke, such a waste of time for both of us. I really struck gold with this one though, and wish everyone could see her!

      Reply
  5. michele morgan

    One good decision I made towards the end of 2013 was to finally stop being so self-conscious and start a blog and now at the beginning of 2014 I find your blog. Now that is my today’s silver lining. Thank you

    Reply
  6. men's apparel brands in india

    Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve keep in mind your stuff prior to
    and you’re just too fantastic. I actually like what you’ve got right
    here, certainly like what you are saying and the way in which in which
    you assert it. You are making it enjoyable and you still take
    care of to stay it wise. I cant wait to learn much more from you.
    That is really a great site.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS