Zero to Hero Day 1

I’m taking part in the WordPress Zero to Hero challenge, aimed at helping new bloggers, but no doubt also a good refresher for seasoned bloggers.

zero-to-hero

The first challenge was to think about why you are writing your blog (rather than a journal), who you would like to read it and why.

I have now updated my “About” page (updates in italics). I think it was good to revisit the page now that I’ve actually started blogging. I think for me the big question is “why?” Am I writing this for me, for others? What do I have to say that hasn’t been said a million times before, and no doubt more eloquently?! (See my post on Bloggers block – which happened pretty quickly given it was only month 2).

This blog post by Alexander Franzen really helped:

When you write, you’re probably not revealing “revolutionary” or “innovative” information. You’re probably offering a timeless reminder about a universal subject, like love, compassion, balance, jealousy, grief, creativity or peace.

The kind of timeless reminder that we (your appreciative readers) need to hear. And keep hearing. Again. And again.

Until one day — because of the way you phrased it, because of the twist you gave it, or because of the personal story you wrapped around it — we finally get it.

Your new mantra: “Everything has been said before, but since nobody listens, we have to keep going back and beginning all over again.” –Andre Gide

I love this – the idea that I might say one thing on one day that makes a difference to one person. And the spooky thing? I saw this post on exactly the right day, I had spent all day stressing about what was the point of my blog, should I change the name, change the focus, and up popped the answer, to just trust in myself.

(Comments on my “About” page are very welcome…)

8 thoughts on “Zero to Hero Day 1

Add yours

  1. Hi! I’m thinking of participating in this Zero To Hero project thing as well though I’m quite anxious about it – I have been on the blogosphere only for two weeks now so I don’t even think I’d be any good at it haha 😀

    What you said in the end of your post, about doubting why are you even writing this blog – I think that’s a very common thought because I keep thinking that CONSTANTLY! Oh well.
    Anyway, you’ve got a very lovely blog, keep it up!
    -Alexandra

  2. Hello there,

    I love this – the idea that I might say one thing on one day that makes a difference to one person.

    Me too!
    I’m also participating in the Zero to Hero challenge and we have common interests. I’m pleased to meet you and to follow your blog.

      1. Hi again,
        Please forgive me for belated replies. I have all email notification shut down because I multitask. I am currently covering our business while my hubby is away on one computer. I’m answering support forum questions on this one. On the third one I’m running data spills for my contracted work. Reaching me is best done through comment boxes on with blog.

        Question:how important do you think it is to have a sidebar?

        Answer: Given the fact that mobile use is exploding and that responsive layout themes like this one are available and they adapt in accord with the device being used to display them my answer is “not very”. Make sure you disable the mobile theme here > Appearance > Mobile then see here so you know how your blog displays in various devices http://www.responsinator.com/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fsilverliningsproject.wordpress.com Click the menu button and note how important Pages are now when it comes to providing navigation aides.

      2. Thank you – so sound crazily busy! This is great advice, I spent ages choosing a theme only to realise that you can hardly tell most themes on a mobile. Now off to sort out my menu! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑