My guilt over Schumacher accident.

I feel so bad. So wrong. So guilty.

It’s confession time.

No, not that, I wasn’t even in France. I’ve never even been skiing (well, on a dry ski slope in England once but I don’t think that counts).

My confession is that I’m worried about him, I’m following all the news stories, wondering how he’s getting on, but I don’t know him. I’m not a fan, I don’t follow Formula One. I know about him of course,  because he’s a celebrity. So why the guilt?

Source: Guardian
Source: Guardian

I feel guilty because while Schumacher is in hospital, all sorts of terrible things are happening around the world, but I’m not following them.

I’ve been wondering why. Is it because I’ve bought into the whole celebrity thing? No, I don’t think so, but maybe in some small part I have, without even realising it. The truth is I think it’s because this particular news headline is about a person who is more than another unknown name. That sounds terrible but we are flooded with so much news that I think I’ve become desensitized.

Is it just me?

9 thoughts on “My guilt over Schumacher accident.

Add yours

  1. No, I pointedly haven’t followed it at all. I wish him well, but I think about the thousands of people who are in this kind of situation, without his money, and have to get by on what ever their governments decide their lives are worth. Car crash accidents, all sorts – as these things go, he was living it up, chasing adrenalin, and crossed his limit. I don’t mean to sound heartless, but there are people who didn’t choose to put their lives on the line and are in far worse shape

  2. I totally get where you’re coming from. I’ve deliberately been avoiding the news over the past couple of months because it’s too triggering for me.

    I don’t think you need to feel guilty. I’ve learned from experience that it’s not healthy to take on the world’s pain and troubles. You can’t worry about everyone.

    I know you’ve written lots about mindfulness. I’m still learning about it but I’d say this would be a good opportunity for using what you’ve learned… I don’t think you need to give yourself a hard time for caring xx

    1. I now only view news through the BBC app, that way I can pick and choose. The rest, like yoy say, is too terrible and there’s nothing I can do about it. My counsellor warned me against trying to fix everyone else’s problems!

      Thank you for the reminder, time for my mindfulness CD. Let me know how you get on with it, I hope it works for you too xx

  3. Aaah, and now I’ve seen this post, I can see that you do in fact carry guilt in very similar ways to me. So, we can at least say ‘don’t worry – you’re not alone’. In fact, if there is one thing blogging has taught me, it is that we are rarely ever alone. Even in our most scariest forms of panic/guilt/depression or whatever – there is usually someone who can relate.

    I don’t feel guilty over this particular incident in the same way that you do. But I do feel guilty that I don’t worry about him enough. My friends and family are talking about him all the time, and as selfish as it sounds, I switch off, and I repress. Because when I start thinking about the state of the world, and all of the dying people in it… the poor, the unhealthy, the injured, the ones in pain… I’m overwhelmed with pain.

    My OCD kicks in too, and I tell myself that because I don’t care enough, I’m somehow responsible for that person’s situation. Which is horrible, and of course, realistically speaking, I know it’s not true… but what does it matter what we know, or think we know when the mind wants to trick us?

    And, again, spying on your comments above 😉 I can see that your therapist warned you against trying to fix everyone else’s problems. They are certainly right. Sadly we don’t have that kind of power. But I think we both need to focus on finding a happy balance. It’s good to care. Of course it is. You are a compassionate person, and that’s wonderful. But you must also try to care a little more for yourself and your own mind. Be kinder on it. If you feel guilty, accept that guilt, but don’t feed it.

    I know it’s difficult. I’ve felt guilty every time the news comes on, either because I care too much, or not at all. I can’t find that happy balance.

    Wishing you all the best,
    Sami

    1. Spy away, that’s what this is for 😉

      How funny that we are feeling guilty for the opposite reasons! I have now vowed to not watch the news, I can pick and choose what I follow.
      You’re right, we can’t change what’s happening out there in the world by worrying, we just spoil our lives by doing so.
      We do indeed need to be kinder to ourselves and focus on our lives and those immediately around us. That might sound selfish, maybe it is, but we only have one life and I know I’m not going to change the world, but I’d like to make my little world the happiest and safest it can be.
      Thank you for your kind and insightful words, I love it when I see you in my inbox!

      1. Aaw, not at all! ❤

        I wish we could change the world, and to a certain point, I do believe we can. But I know that the guilt we feel won't be helpful, you know?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑