from anxiety to mindfulness

A liebster award!

A HUGE thank you to the lovely Cabin pressure may change  for nominating me for a Liebster award, an award for new bloggers. Definitely one to add to the starry moments! (Thank you can seem such an overused word, in type it never comes across quite as much as if you saw me jumping up and down and beaming from ear to ear, which is exactly what happened!)

liebster

So, on to the rules:
1. Thank the person who nominated you and link to their blog
2. You must answer the 10 questions given to you by the nominee before you.
3. You must nominate 10 of your favorite blogs with fewer than 200 followers and notify them of their nomination
4. You must come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer.

Here are the blogs that I’m nominating (in no particular order):

  1. Stumbling into bliss
  2. Delightful Dystopia
  3. Change your mind
  4. The Atidecrem Life Project
  5. On becoming myself
  6. Both sides of the wall

Sorry, only 6 nominations from me, a lot of the blogs I follow are apparently not that new, it’s not something I’ve ever paid attention too!

Questions given to me:

Why did you start your blog?

I started my blog as a way of recording my journey towards a happier Amy, as a way of making it public so that I would commit to it, and as a way of being open and honest about my anxiety in the hope that it might help the next person.

What is your favorite thing about having a blog?

Two things spring to mine, the first being connecting with people, both on my blog and through posts that pop up in my Reader. The comments that I get are truly helping me along my journey, reassuring me that I am not alone, encouraging me to keep doing what I’m doing, and offering their own wonderful suggestions.

The other thing (is it cheating to have two?) is the process of writing. I wasn’t expecting this, but in writing down my thoughts and my “starry moment” each day, it seems to be helping the whole thing to sink in. (IS this the same for you?)

What do you do for fun?

Blog! I also have a strange affinity with the sea – I hate being in it, but I could watch and listen to it for hours. I’m a homebody, no adrenalin fuelled bungee jumps for me!

What is your favorite book?

Oh, this is a tough one! I work in a library, probably because I love books, but how to narrow it down to just one? My favourite book recently has been The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey. It is such a beautiful book, based on a Russian fairytale. I nearly didn’t get past the first few pages as they were quite depressing, but I’m so glad I did.

What is your favorite movie?

This is easier, True Romance by Quentin Tarantino. It is a quirky love story, with a great sound track. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but I love it. If you like Tarantino, have a look.

If you had really good news to share who would you call first?

Whoever was available first out of my Mum and boyfriend.

On your 85th birthday what do you hope your loved ones are saying about you as they celebrate your life so far?

That I am a great friend with a wicked sense of humour and love of life. (I’m working on the last one, sometimes life can be tough, but I’m now learning how to ride the waves).

Thinking back to the last time you laughed so hard you couldn’t breathe, what was so funny?

It was a Michael McIntyre standup sketch about going to the dentist. I laughed so much I was in pain, but I still couldn’t stop. I don’t think I heard any other sketches, I was doubled up in agony….

Thinking back to the last time you cried, what moved you?

I cried because of something someone said, but mainly because I was tired and emotional (in the literal sense rather than the drunken sense).

What is one of your favorite quotes?

“Every cloud has a silver lining”. A simple quote, but so powerful. I am discovering that by deliberately looking for positives instead of negatives, it is not only becoming a way of life, but life changing.

Here are my 10 questions for my nominees:

  1. Who or what inspired you to start blogging?
  2. When did you start blogging?
  3. What has surprised you most about blogging?
  4. Please tell us more about the name of your blog
  5. Which blog post are you most proud of and why?
  6. If your blog became a film, who would play you?
  7. If your blog had a soundtrack, what would be the opening song?
  8. What are you grateful for today? (big or small)?
  9. What is your favourite quote?
  10. What has been the best advice you’ve received?
7 Responses to “A liebster award!”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS