from anxiety to mindfulness

Starry moments: days 14 and 15

Yesterday was one of those days when I had to have a little word with myself. I’ve noticed that sometimes I get so caught up with blogging about life that I find it hard to stop and actually live life, let alone mindfully! Mr Silver Linings and I went to his brother’s for the evening and had some wonderful family time, just kicking back and enjoying the company. We had also promised ourselves an early night after a few too many late nights, but I hadn’t updated my blog – what to do? So, perfectionism was put aside, life came before blog. Despite my promise to blog a starry moment each day, it seemed daft to miss out on the starry moment of an early night. Does anyone else struggle to put their blog down?

Source: John Lewis

Source: John Lewis

Anyways, starry moments. Yesterday:

I had some lovely banter with a student who had changed his name, and it reminded me of how much I love these random little interactions, life would be so much less without them.

I realised that I always take the same route to the bus stop, but a shortcut meant I could cut through Waterstones and have a quick look at the mindfulness books. (It seems I dreamt up Mindfulness for cyclists, strange but true). I wonder how many moments we miss by taking the same route every day, by being on autopilot?

And of course, an inbox full of blog awards, banter with family and an early night. Bliss.

Today:

Being able to help a new blogger, both with his blog and with the suggestion of a trip to the beach to help lift the spirits (he is an amazing guy and I hope to introduce you to him when the time is right)

Being described as awesome, on 3 completely separate occasions by 3 completely different people. Awesome is SUCH an amazing word, it just makes me feel, well, AWESOME! It is never a word I would have used to describe myself, but wow, thank you.

12 Responses to “Starry moments: days 14 and 15”

  1. Christopher S. Malone

    It’s funny, because you’re the third person, excluding me, to talk about being overwhelmed/attached to blog writing in the past couple days. This excludes my post, mentioning that it’s been difficult to step away from the blog as well.

    How does this get so addicting? It shows great work ethic, commitment.

    I am up to my throat with ideas, but spending so much time in front of the computer can be draining. It’s bad enough that the marketing blog I submit to–my required day is tomorrow–and I’m frizzled. I’ve even asked the cat for ideas.

    However, the answer is right under my nose: “workaholism”/addiction vs. dedication… what to do when blogging becomes “clogging.” I’m sorry ideas are being hashed out on here, but you’re post helped! Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS