Mindfulness · Mindfulness

Switching mind to manual

Day 10: #reverb13

Living life on auto-pilot can feel disorienting and dull. How did you cultivate a life worth loving during 2013?

How can you turn off your auto-pilot button in 2014?

I was so pleased when I saw this challenge. Switching off the autopilot has been the “thing” that I’ve focussed on most this year. I have been learning the principles and practices of mindfulness, learning to live in the moment, not distracted by past regrets or future “what ifs”. I’ve been learning to turn off the constant stream of negative thoughts and self doubts. So refreshing!

Instead of battling to suppress negative thoughts I’ve been learning to spot them, and give them the attention and credit they deserve – none. This is still a work in progress, perhaps it always will be, but I’m getting there, moment by moment.

Turning off the autopilot frees up the mind to notice all the beautiful things around us. For me, I try to cultivate this habit by taking photos on my phone, photos of the little things that go unnoticed on autopilot. 2014 will hopefully see lots more mindful photography,with a focus not on technique but on spotting and capturing the moments.

ABM_1386433301_20131207172338788

2 thoughts on “Switching mind to manual

Leave a comment